Aghadowey King’s crowned

Thursday, 21 September 2017

Aghadowey King’s crowned thumbnailAdam Heatrick, winner of the National Hot Rod final in the Hankook Tyres World Qualifying Round 5 at Ballymena on Friday night, He is pictured receiving the evening’s trophy from Ross Hyndman representing sponsors Ross Hyndman Motors. Following the evenin

A cold, wet track welcomed drivers and fans to the Aghadowey Oval on Saturday night where Gareth Robinson continued his good form to lift the King of Aghadowey Thunder Rod title while returning driver Nigel Jackson took the King of Aghadowey Lightning Rod title.

Thunder Rods
Heat wins for Gareth Robinson and John Goligher, contested on the very slippery track, handed pole position to Limavady driver John Goligher for the King of Aghadowey title race.
As the green flag fell, Gareth Robinson made his bid for the title by swooping across from his outside front row, obviously feeling that on the drying line, it was his best chance to grab the lead and as he did so, he survived a huge broadside moment going into the first corner but crucially maintained the lead and never looked back on his way to the chequered flag.
Behind him, John Goligher was under real pressure from the pack of cars which included defending champion Samuel Montgomery from Limavady who had started on 5th. The tricky conditions were making life hard for the pack - anyone moving off the dry line risked being shuffled backwards - and unfortunately, John suffered that fate as he slipped into midfield. John's loss was Samuel's gain however and he showed his patience and race craft to get on the podium in third place.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete